Thyme and Parmesan Focaccia

Tuesday night, home alone and bored, I decided to do a touch of bread making. The last time I made anything bread-y, it went so disastrously wrong that I’ve never quite had the heart to try again. But Mom’s semi successful Man Tou making has inspired me to try again…

Sweet Jesus I love yeast. First time ever that I’m using this stuff and I’m head over heels already. I love the smell, the texture, the bubbles (!!) and lets not forget the taste of yeasted bread – so much better than that dense scone dough. This specific focaccia recipe is from Delicious Days. God bless that women. I simply can not stop raving about this recipe! Its so tasty, so rustic and ‘toss together’ easy that a blind man could do it. Can’t wait to make it again!

Nikki (from Delicious Days) is an active yeast lover and she swears by it – but I made mine with the dried stuff and it turned out just fine -more than fine, damn right delicious fine! Something that kept catching me off guard though was how ridiculously light weight the mixture was – it was so full of airy yumminess. And the dough tripled in size! Tripled!! (excited face) Please please go make this!! – You won’t regret it.

So without further ado, the recipe :

  • 250mL of warm water
  • 1 teaspoon of dried active yeast (I used active edmonds)
  • 1 teaspoon of salt
  • 2 cups of flour (All purpose or bread flour)
  • EVOO (Extra Virgin Olive Oil)
  • Creative toppings to your liking – I used thyme from my garden, some smoked manukua sea salt (from Matakana Market) and a tiny sprinkle of Parmesan (from La Cigale market)

Steps:

1. Dissolve your yeast in luke warm water.

2. In a large bowl stir together your yeast and half your flour and the salt – mix for 2 minutes, then add in your remaining flour and mix for a further 3 minutes. Don’t overwork the mixture. Mine was crazy sticky – defiantly not the workable dough type.

3. Lightly wet some cheese cloth and cover the bowl – allowing enough space for the volume change. Leave rested for anywhere between 2 hours to over night. If you’re leaving it overnight – refrigerate and take out 2 hours prior to baking and place in a warm spot.

4. Preheat the oven to 200 Degrees Celsius. Lightly brush the bottom of your tin/ pan or cake mould with EVOO  and pour the mixture straight in. Brush EVOO generously on top of the mixture and with your slightly oiled fingers, poke dents into the mixture. Sprinkle with you toppings.

5. Bake for 12 minutes. Then crank up the oven to 230 and grill for another 2-3 minutes. I like mine crusty on the sides and top so I left mine in for a few extra minutes.

6. Remove from oven (you want that slightly golden top). Cool slightly and cut into slices, or in my case – wedges. Serve with freshly made hummus.

Leave a comment

Filed under Baking, Recipes

Leave a Reply

